Time Management

“525,600 minutes.”

Before the mission, the soundtrack to the beloved Broadway show Rent was definitely one of my favorite. But I definitely have to say that its taken on a whole new meaning since I’ve been home.

Serving a mission teaches you a lot about planning your day, and making the most of every hour. You plan backups, and backups to backups. And then a plan for if everything you possibly could have thought of falls through. You would think that applying this principle to normal life probably wouldn’t be that difficult.

But let me tell you, when forced to choose between going on a hike with a cute boy from your Spanish class, or working on an essay that you’ve been procrastinating on, you’re definitely going to pick the first choice.

I have to tell you though, I can see how the mission has changed me in this aspect. The Christlike Attribute of diligence has been thoroughly instilled in me. I’m far from perfect, but I am slowly applying this principle to my school work and seeing a huge difference.

According to  entrepreneur.com, one of the best things that can be done to manage your time more wisely is to plan for unplanned events. Especially in college, we should just expect the unexpected. When we learn to just go with the flow of things, and to not feel pressured to stick with what we had previously anticipated.

On Monday one of my best friends came home from the mission. He lives in Idaho Falls, which as most of you know is a little bit of a drive from here. My friend Spencer and I had planned on leaving at around 4pm to drive and visit him, but of course things didn’t go as planned, and we didn’t get there until around 8:30. All my plans of an evening catching up on homework were ruined, and I dreaded the long night I had ahead of me. But do I regret it? Not in the least. I got to see Caleb! I was very tired this morning, but sometimes, that’s just life. I’ve learned a lot about just relaxing, and letting time manage itself.

Leave a Reply

